Saddleworth Churches

Welcome to the Saddleworth Team Website

Thank you for visiting our website we hope it provides you with the information you need.

We are made up of six very individual parishes, but whichever church you might like to visit you will receive a very warm welcome, uplifting thought provoking worship, and a community that genuinely cares about all people.  

Book of Remembrance for the Parish of St Chad

Last year, at the suggestion of a member of our congregation, St Chad's PCC agreed to introduce a 'Book of Remembrance' for the  Parish. This book has now been purchased and once inscribed the book will be located in St Chad Church, Uppermill. 

The names that can be included in the book are:

  • anyone who lived in the parish,
  • anyone whose funeral was held within the parish of St Chad, or
  • anyone who was a regular worshiper at either St Chad Church, St Chad's Parish Centre, Uppermill or Kilngreen Mission Church, Diggle.

If you would like to make a request, further details can be found on the 'Request for Memorial Book Entry' form which can be found in the April edition of the Saddleworth St Chad Church magazine (available at Uppermill Library, Saddleworth Museum, Uppermill Post Office, Diggle Chippy, local shops, or any of the 3 worship centres mentioned above). You can also request a copy of the form via email from the 'Team Office' (see home page for contact details).

Alternatively click here to download a book of remembrance form

There is a £15 fee for each entry into the Memorial Book.  Following the initial inscribing the book will be updated regularly.

A sample of the style of approved inscription

Should you wish to have the name of a loved one inscribed in the book please complete and return the form to the address stated on the bottom of the document along with a cheque made payable to ' The Parish of St Chad Saddleworth'. 

The deadline for forms to be completed and returned is January 31 2015.

We intend to have the book ready for the St Chad's celebratory year (800th Centenary) which commences on 1 March 2015.